Celebrated athlete PT Usha, Philanthropist Veerendra Heggade amongst four nominated for Rajya Sabha

Spread the love

Picture Supply : @NARENDRAMODI Celebrated athlete PT Usha, iconic composer Ilaiyaraaja, Philanthropists Veerendra Heggade nominated for Rajya Sabha.


  • PT Usha, a celebrated athlete and iconic composer Ilaiyaraaja have been nominated for Rajya Sabha
  • Philanthropist Veerendra Heggade, Baahubali author Vijayendra Prasad have additionally been nominated
  • The Rajya Sabha had vacancies within the nominated class

Rajya Sabha Information: Celebrated athlete PT Usha, iconic composer Ilaiyaraaja, Philanthropist Veerendra Heggade and Movie Director & screenwriter Vijayendra Prasad Garu have been nominated for Rajya Sabha.

The Prime Minister shared the data on Twitter and congratulated the nominees for his or her upcoming political innings.

“The outstanding PT Usha Ji is an inspiration for each Indian. Her accomplishments in sports activities are extensively identified however equally commendable is her work to mentor budding athletes over the past a number of years. Congratulations to her on being nominated to the Rajya Sabha,” Prime Minister Narendra Modi mentioned on Twitter.

He additionally shared his footage with Usha and Ilaiyaraaja alongside along with his congratulatory messages in separate tweets.

“The artistic genius of @ilaiyaraaja Ji has enthralled folks throughout generations. His works superbly replicate many feelings. What’s equally inspiring is his life journey- he rose from a humble background and achieved a lot. Glad that he has been nominated to the Rajya Sabha,” Modi mentioned.

The Rajya Sabha had vacancies within the nominated class.

All 4 members are from southern states

By the way, all of the 4 members nominated to the Rajya Sabha are from southern states. Whereas Usha is from Kerala, Ilaiyaraaja hails from Tamil Nadu, Heggade belongs to Karnataka and Prasad is from Andhra Pradesh.

Authorities sources mentioned that the Rajya Sabha nominations is one other occasion of the Narendra Modi-led authorities recognising excellent Indians who’ve made a mark in various fields.

The 4 nominated members have had illustrious careers of their respective fields and obtained nationwide and world recognition for his or her contributions.

PT Usha, a celebrated athlete popularly often known as Payyoli Specific

Usha, a celebrated athlete born in a small village in Kozhikode district in Kerala, is one in all India’s most iconic sportspersons. She has been a task mannequin and inspiration for lakhs of younger women throughout the nation who’ve dreamt of taking over a profession in sports activities, particularly monitor and subject occasions.

Popularly often known as the ‘Payyoli Specific, Usha has gained medals for the nation at numerous worldwide sporting occasions, together with the World Junior Invitational Meet, Asian Championships and Asian Video games. She has set and damaged many nationwide and Asian information throughout her profession.

On the 1984 Los Angeles Olympics, she missed profitable India’s first medal in a monitor and subject occasion on the Video games in a photo-finish as she stood fourth in ladies’s 400m race, lacking out on a bronze by 1/100 second.

Publish-retirement, she began the Usha Faculty of Athletics, which affords world-class services to gifted children. Usha is a recipient of the Arjuna award and the Padma Shri.

Ilaiyaraaja thought to be one in all India’s best music composers

Born in a Dalit family at a village in Madurai district, Ilaiyaraaja is thought to be one in all India’s best music composers. Throughout his lengthy profession, Ilaiyaraaja needed to face innumerable hardships and caste-based discrimination. Nevertheless, he overcame all such hurdles and emerged as one of many nation’s main music composers.

In a profession spanning greater than 5 a long time, Ilaiyaraaja has composed over 7,000 songs for greater than 1,000 movies and carried out in additional than 20,000 concert events throughout the globe.

In 2018, he was honoured with the Padma Vibhushan award. He has additionally been awarded with Padma Bhushan.

Veerendra Heggade, a devoted philanthropist

Veerendra Heggade has served because the ‘Dharmadhikari’ of the Dharmasthala Temple in Karnataka because the tender age of 20. He has been a loyal philanthropist for greater than 5 a long time. He has led numerous transformative initiatives for rural improvement and promotion of self-employment. He established the Rural Improvement and Self-employment Coaching Institute (RDSETI) to unfold consciousness about self-employment alternatives and practice rural youth.

Heggade has additionally conceptualised the Shri Kshethra Dharmasthala Rural Improvement Challenge, an initiative for inclusive rural improvement and self-employment in Karnataka. At the moment, the mission has greater than six lakh SHGs and over 49 lakh members.

He additionally heads the Shri Dharmasthala Manjunatheswara Instructional Belief, which supplies high quality and reasonably priced schooling by means of greater than 25 colleges and faculties. He was awarded the Padma Vibhushan in 2015.

Vijayendra Prasad penned many outstanding Telugu, Hindi motion pictures

Vijayendra Prasad is an acclaimed screenwriter and movie director, who has penned the scripts of many outstanding Telugu and Hindi motion pictures. His notable works embody among the highest-grossing Indian motion pictures equivalent to ‘RRR’, the ‘Baahubali’ collection, and ‘Bajrangi Bhaijaan’. Among the motion pictures he wrote have transcended sharp regional boundaries and grow to be blockbusters throughout the nation.

(With inputs from IANS, PTI)

ALSO READShiv Sena appoints Rajan Vichare as chief whip in Lok Sabha, replaces Bhavana Gawali

ALSO READMukhtar Abbas Naqvi resigns as Union Minister of Minority Affairs

Newest India Information

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »