Punjab: Earlier than Bhagwant Mann Takeover, Safety of 122 Former Ministers & MLAs Withdrawn

Spread the love

The Punjab Police has withdrawn the safety of 122 former ministers and former MLAs of the state earlier than the brand new authorities of the Aam Aadmi Celebration led by Bhagwant Mann formally takes over. The transfer, being seen as a message in opposition to VIP tradition, got here a day after the chief minister-designate met the Punjab director common of police.

Underneath the brand new regime-elect, those that will not have police safety cowl embrace former minister Manpreet Singh Badal of the Congress, who misplaced the election this time. Manpreet had 19 safety personnel posted with him.

Amrinder Singh Raja Warring, who gained from Gidderbaha this time, may even lose his safety cowl of 21 personnel, essentially the most amongst all. He’ll not be a cupboard minister within the new authorities. After Raja Warring and Manpreet, third on the checklist by way of variety of safety personnel is Pargat Singh, India’s former hockey captain who was sports activities minister within the outgoing Charanjit Singh Channi-led authorities. He had 17 safety personnel. Pargat has gained from Jalandhar Cantonment once more. The checklist additionally has names of a number of leaders who’ve gained once more, reminiscent of outgoing minister Rana Gurjeet Singh who had 14 safety personnel.

Senior Akali leaders Adesh Partap Singh Kairon and Daljit Singh Cheema, each of whom have misplaced the elections, may even not have police safety. Manoranjan Kalia and Tikshan Sood of the BJP are additionally on the checklist.

The checklist additional contains some who gained on an AAP ticket in 2017, however later switched to the Congress, reminiscent of Jagdev Singh Kamalu and Pirmal Singh. Former Punjab AAP chief Sucha Singh Chhotepur, who unsuccessfully contested on an Akali ticket this time, has additionally misplaced Punjab Police cowl. Chhotepur’s sacking from the AAP forward of the 2017 elections on expenses of “promoting tickets” was seen as first in a sequence of errors that the get together made earlier than these polls.

Whereas the checklist doesn’t have names of prime leaders reminiscent of former CMs Captain Amarinder Singh and Parkash Singh Badal, or of Akali Dal chief Sukhbir Badal and Punjab Congress chief Navjot Singh Sidhu, amongst those that have misplaced safety is Sidhu’s spouse Navjot Kaur. Like her, there are various on the checklist who weren’t MLAs even within the outgoing meeting and had remained members of the Vidhan Sabha in earlier tenures.

Whereas most on the checklist have been swept away by the AAP wave, which gave the Arvind Kejriwal-led get together 92 of the 117 seats within the Punjab meeting, a few of them could get safety once more as they’ve retained their seats.

The orders, dated March 11, have been issued by the extra director common of police (safety).

Mann, in the meantime, formally staked declare to kind the federal government in a gathering with governor Banwarilal Purohit. The oath taking is about to happen in Khatkar Kalan, the ancestral village of freedom fighter Bhagat Singh, on March 16. “We staked declare to kind the federal government and the governor sahib authorised it,” Mann mentioned. The 48-year-old was elected the AAP legislature get together chief at a gathering of get together MLAs in Mohali on Friday.

(With PTI inputs)

Learn all minute-by-minute information updates for Uttar Pradesh election outcomes 2022, Punjab election outcomes 2022, Uttarakhand election outcomes 2022, Manipur election outcomes 2022, and Goa election outcomes 2022.

Click on right here for seat-wise LIVE end result updates.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »