Bhupendra Patel: Fifth Gujarat CM from Patidar group – A glance again

Spread the love

Picture Supply : PTI

Gandhinagar: Bhupendra Patel takes oath as new Chief Minister of Gujarat administered by Governor Acharya Devvrat throughout a swearing-in ceremony at Raj Bhavan in Gandhinagar, Monday, Sept. 13, 2021.

When BJP legislator Bhupendra Patel took oath as the brand new Gujarat chief minister on Monday afternoon, he turned the fifth politician from the Patidar group to occupy the highest put up because the state’s formation in1960, indicating the clout wielded by the influential social group.

Gujarat has had 5 Patel chief ministers out of complete 17 because the state was fashioned 61 years in the past.

Bhupendra Patel (59), the ruling BJP’s shock decide for the highest job, has taken cost when simply over a yr is left for meeting polls in Gujarat, the house state of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union Dwelling Minister Amit Shah.

He’s the first-time MLA from Ghatlodia in Ahmedabad and his elevation is being seen as an try by the BJP to woo the Patidars forward of the 2022 polls and retain its grip on Gujarat, which is below saffron rule for greater than 20 years.

Previous to Bhupendra Patel, Gujarat noticed Anandiben Patel, Keshubhai Patel, Babubhai Patel and Chimanbhai Patel as chief ministers belonging to the Patidar or Patel group.

READ MORE: Bhupendrabhai Patel elected new Gujarat CM in shock transfer

A lot of the different Chief Ministers have been from the OBC group like Modi and Madhavsinh Solanki.

Bhupendra Patel, who took oath because the 17th CM of Gujarat on the Raj Bhavan in Gandhinagar, is a first-time MLA and is taken into account near Anandiben Patel, who had resigned from the highest put up in August 2016 following the statewide Patidar quota agitation which had turned violent.

Late Chimanbhai Patel, a Congressman, was the primary Patidar chief minister of Gujarat.

He assumed the workplace for the primary time in July 1973.

He resigned in February 1974 as a fallout of ‘Navnirman Andolan’, an agitation began by school college students towards a hike in hostel meals invoice.

Chimanbhai Patel as soon as once more turned the CM in October 1990 and remained in workplace until his demise in February 1994.

Late Babubhai Jasbhai Patel, a Janata Morcha and Janata Social gathering chief, additionally held the CM’s put up twice.

His first time period was between June 1975 and March 1976.

He assumed the workplace once more from April 1977 to February 1980.

Late Keshubhai Patel was the primary BJP Chief Minister of Gujarat.

He assumed the workplace in March 1995 after the BJP gained a decisive majority within the Meeting polls.

Nevertheless, Keshubhai Patel resigned seven months later as his celebration colleague Shankersinh Vaghela, who needed to be the CM after BJP’s victory, revolted towards him.

The BJP, led by Keshubhai Patel, returned to energy within the 1998 meeting elections and he as soon as once more turned the chief minister.

Nevertheless, he resigned prematurely in October 2001, citing poor well being, paving the way in which for Modi who held the CM’s put up until 2014.

After Modi left Gujarat in Might 2014 to take over because the Prime Minister, the BJP handed over the reins of Gujarat to Anandiben Patel, who contested from the Ghatlodia Meeting seat of Ahmedabad.

Nevertheless, she resigned in August 2016 citing BJP’s rule (not talked about in celebration structure) which bars leaders above the age of 75 from holding any essential positions.

Opposite to her claims, political specialists believed she resigned to quell the anger of the agitating Patidar group, which was upset on the BJP for not accepting the demand of giving OBC tag to the social group (to make its members eligible for quota in jobs and training).

In 2016, when Nitin Patel was seen as a powerful contender for the highest put up, the BJP chosen Vijay Rupani, a Jain, because the CM.

The Patidars represent 13 per cent to 14 per cent of Gujarat’s inhabitants.

READ MORE: BJP chief Bhupendra Patel takes oath as 17th Gujarat Chief Minister

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »